No more brain surgery!


I don’t need more brain surgery!!!

YAY!

I went to see my neurosurgeon, Dr. Robert Friedlander, two weeks ago. I had a cervical spine and brain MRI done as well as a second lumbar puncture.  (My LP site still hurts.) MRI’s came back all clear and my opening pressure has gone down! So I’m good from the surgical standpoint.

My next move? Off to a neurologist.

The wait list to get into UPMC headache center is SIX months! I got in within a week thanks to some awesome scheduler and Friedlander’s PA Emily. Today was that appointment.

I met with Dr. Robert Kaniecki and his PA. (I’m horrible…I completely forget her name, but she was so amazingly nice.) So not only do I have Chiari Malformation Type 1, a 3.6 cm x 2.9 cm pineal mass, but lets toss in chronic migraines for shits and giggles. Yeah…that’s my problem now. Chronic migraines.

What does that mean? NO SURGERY! But I’m now on topomax, an anti-nausea medication, and SUMAVEL DosePro.

Topomax is a migraine medication.

The anti-nausea medication is to help with my nausea and vomiting caused by the migraines.

And SUMAVEL DosePro is a prescription medicine given with a needle-free delivery system to treat adults who have been diagnosed with acute migraine or cluster headaches.

Now starts the six month trial of seeing if this all works. I get to see Dr. Kaniecki again in six months to determine if the regimen is working. I really hope it does. As awesome as all of my doctors have been…I don’t want to see them for a VERY long time. The yearly MRI’s are enough for me. Even that is too much really.

I am nervous as hell for the first time I have to give myself the Sumavel. I don’t like injections of any kind. Even needless injections. Nope. Not my thing. I freak out watching the nurses at work get syringes ready. I can’t watch my grandma give herself insulin shots. How the hell am I supposed to do it to myself????

Maybe I’ll make the man do it. He can jab me in the thigh with my migraine medication.

4 thoughts on “No more brain surgery!

  1. Oh dear. Still, that’s really good news about the surgery. And rest assured, there are some very impressive developments being made in medicine to treat chronic pain. A tDCS headband is something current. I’ve heard it can be used to treat pain.

  2. I’m honestly glad you don’t have to have any more surgery. I hope they can get to the bottom of what is cau
    sing your headaches.

Leave a Reply

