I know…I suck at this blogging thing


I’ve been MIA again. I know.

I’ve been busy…kind of. Okay, not really. I’ve been in one of those moods for the past month. I haven’t been wanting to do ANYTHING. At all. So I haven’t.

But after yesterday’s tragedy I’m crawling out of my hermit shell to extend my condolences to the families of those lost and my thoughts to those whose lives are forever changed. And to say…WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH THE WBC? Seriously? I saw a tweet from those whack jobs saying they are going to protest the funerals of those killed. Two of those killed are CHILDREN! Just babies. (Okay they were 8…still they were just kids.) Can’t we just drop that entire congregation in the middle of a war zone and have them stand in front of the troops they hate so much? Or better switch them out with all the children we’ve lost to violence.

But that is neither here nor there. All I can do is shake my head and reaffirm that I am really beginning to dislike humanity.

Is it so hard for people to just leave one another alone? I’m fed up with the horrible news of parents killing their children, children killing their parents, someone being a complete asshat and shooting up a school, blowing up a damn marathon, N. Korea…well…yeah that’s an entirely different post for another day. 

It’s hard raising two small, impressionable boys with the way the world is. With the senseless tragedies and always on the brink of war with some asshole who wants world domination…it’s hard.

Then I remember good ol’ Fred Rogers and I tell my boys this:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

― Fred Rogers

I hope that one day they will be the helpers. I hope they listen to the stories their father tells them about being in the Marines. I hope they listen to the stories I tell them of their great-grandfather (also a Marine), of when my mother was an EMT, of my step-father Jimmy being a paramedic. Of my friends who are firefighters. Of friends who are doctors and nurses. I hope that through our stories, meeting those people, that my boys will see the good in the world and will grow up to be the helpers.

Before Greg and I began dating, despite having uncles and a grandfather in the military, I always wondered why people did it. Why would they risk their lives for people they don’t know? Then I grew up. My eyes were opened to how the world really is and I realized that without those who are willing to sacrifice their very lives, their time, being away from their loved ones…the world would be much worse off than what it is. Having a husband who is a Marine makes me proud. Knowing what he did, how he has helped…even if he didn’t change the world…makes me happy to know that not everyone is a sick and disgusting murderer….or an asshhat that pickets funerals.

2 thoughts on “I know…I suck at this blogging thing

  1. I know exactly what you mean. What is the world coming to? When I was a kid nothing like this ever happened. I was 10 years old and rode my bicycle seven miles to the movie theater on Saturdays. No one would let a child do that today.

Leave a Reply

