Point State Park


The Point is maybe one of my favorite places in all of Pittsburgh. It’s like an oasis in the middle of the city. There is a lovely fountain (that has been under construction FOREVER) that is gorgeous in the summer when it’s all lit up.
It’s the location of the Regata every year, fireworks, and so many other festivities.

But it has a darker side.

It has a haunted side.

The Point has been a part of Pittsburgh history for over 250 years. It was once the site of Fort Duquesne (French) and Fort Pitt (British) during the 18th century, as well as a large tenement district in the 19th century and an industrialized rail yard in the early 20th century.

So like almost every other part of South Western Pa…it’s haunted.

There have bee reports of spooky, shapeless, mists at night; soldiers; frontiersmen; and even the occasional report of George Washington.

Right after you go under the bridge there is a small building to the left. It’s the Fort Pitt museum. Inside the museum are relics from the many wars fought around the area. Items from the people who have passed on. It is said that some spirits tend to be attached to objects. So it would make sense that the museum would be haunted. The same spirits that roam around Point State Park are said to be in the museum as well.

I’ve never experienced anything myself. Of course I’ve never been their at night…by myself. I’m usually surrounded by 200k of my closest ‘Burghers. I’m sure a ghost could stand right next to me then and I would never know.

If you have had experiences…leave me a comment with the spooky tale!

Leave a Reply

