The Cathedral of Learnings spooky specter


This is another one that is a few years old. It happened at the Cathedral of Learning in Oakland.

The Cathedral of Learning is the large, gothic tower on Pitt’s main campus.

Years ago, when I was barely out of high school, I met and began dating a guy who was a med student at Pitt. I don’t know how we got talking about ghosts, but we did. He told me about the Cathedral of Learning and how it’s haunted. I didn’t believe him so late one night he took me there.

We were going up to the 7th floor where the supposed specter is.

As we headed up you could hear walking around on the stairs ahead of us. Which would be perfectly normal during the day. This was 02:00. We were the only ones in the building besides a security guard at the front door.

I was spooked. So we kept going up. Once near the 7th floor the walking was getting closer and we started to hear someone talking.

I didn’t see the ghost that night. I was too freaked out. We both bolted down the stairs and back to his dorm room.

I haven’t been able to bring myself to go any further up than the main floor of the Cathedral since then…and it’s been 9 1/2 years.

My spooky encounter isn’t the only one that has been reported. There are reports of the Early American room (one of the nationality rooms) being haunted by a descendent of Edgar Allen Poe after her granddaughter donated some of the things to the university. Mary Schenley, who grew up in the Pittsburgh area and donated land to the city, is reported to be the ghost on the 7th floor and surrounding areas.

I’m not the only one who has had other worldly experiences at the old gothic structure.

If you’re one of them, please share your experiences with us in the comment section!!

One thought on “The Cathedral of Learnings spooky specter

  1. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

