Shit is getting done folks!


My book is out to beta’s again. I went from 41k last week to 51k this week. So I added a good bit. A few new chapters and what not.

I am not going traditional publishing.

Nope, I’m going e-book publishing. I’ll be doing a 90 day exclusive with Amazon. After those 90 days I’ll be submitting it to B&N for Nook and Smashwords. (Which will get it  on to Apple products)

I’ve fought with myself over the past few weeks about whether I was going to go traditional or self-pub. I even queried agents…a little bit. Honestly, I sent out 5 queries. That’s it. I wasn’t even disappointed when I got rejections. (I am HORRIBLE at query letters. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE.) The more and more I think about it, the more and more I realized that I wanted to self-publish. So I’m going to.

I’m nervous. Really nervous. I’ve got back about 97% good feedback, which is great. But, how do I know those people aren’t just being nice to me? I know they don’t have to, but what it they are? What if Reds Hood is really a huge, steaming, pile of shit? I don’t want to end up like Twilight or 50 Shades of WTF. I’ve edited, rewritten and beta’d till I’m blue in the face. I’m not sure what else I can do to it. My MC has emotions, my main guy does NOT sparkle or brood. He also doesn’t have a sadistic side. So no whipping here folks.

*sigh* Maybe I’m just being paranoid.
Okay, i am being paranoid.

Within one month I shall be doing my “I’m a published author” dance!

5 thoughts on “Shit is getting done folks!

  1. Good luck! I just published my own on Smashwords so it can be pretty scary! I know that a lot of authors are starting to just self-pub on ereaders because in the end it can make them more money.
    But again, congrats and good luck!

    • For me, it’s not so much about the money as having control of everything. I want to be able to have say in absolutely everything that happens to my book. Not to mention, getting an agent depends on their own taste.

      How has your experience been so far? Do you enjoy being your own “agent, editor and publisher”? When did you know your book was done, finished and ready for public eye?

      • I like the experience so far, but I am only about two day into it! I think I knew my book was “done” when I went through it a few times, left it for about a month and went through it again after hearing what others had to say about it. It really helps to have others read it and tell you what they think; they caught a few moments that didn’t make enough sense.
        It took a while, but I think at some point every writer just has to look at their book and say “It’s as good as it’s going to get” because honestly, no writer will think their work is quite right!
        And as for being my own agent and everything, it is fun! I loved designing my book cover and thinking up ways to get my book out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

