50 Shades of WTF?


I was hesitant about reading this book. I heard so many different opinions on it; some good, but mostly bad. But hey, it has sold 7 million copies, so it can’t be all bad right?

I wish I wouldn’t have wasted my money

I’m not a prude. I love a good sex scene as much as the next housewife, but holy shit folks. That’s all the book was. Poorly written, somewhat sadistic, sex scenes. I held out for a happy ending, and yes I know there are two more books, but that ending sucked. Seriously. It sucked.

I hate getting down on books. I love reading. I LOVE READING. This book made me want to gouge out my eyeballs.

I think what I was really hoping for was a break in the sex. I wanted to see Christian develop from some sadistic asshole to a guy I could like. By the end of the book I just saw some seriously fucked up rich guy who was pouting for not getting what he wanted. Not really making me care all that much about him or his relationship with Anastasia.

Speaking of Anastasia…I HATED HER INNER THOUGHTS! The “inner goddess” made me roll my own eyes.

Also, some of the parts sounded VERY Twilightish…especially meeting the parents. Her attitude was awfully similar to Bella and the sister, Mia, was very Alice like.

I don’t want to knock the actual writing, I think with a REALLY GOOD editor, it has a LOT of potential. A good editor and some rewrites. I know things could be completely different in books 2 and 3, but honestly, after reading 1 I don’t want to read 2 and 3.

I know as far as other housewives out there go, I’m probably in the minority with my opinion, but I just was not crazy about 50 Shades of Grey. Was not.

I did download another book yesterday that looks promising; Death Angel by Martha Powers. While it’s not my usual cup of tea, it sounds good. A very interesting story line.

Kate and Richard Warner have a quiet life, a routine life, until the one afternoon that changes them forever. Within a few short hours they are thrust into the black hole of every parent’s worst nightmare. Suddenly they are at the center of attention of their community, the media, and the police. Richard has been singled out as the primary suspect in a heinous crime that took more than an innocent life. With Richard as a suspect, Kate’s life unravels into unbearable chaos, grief, and a whole new world of deception. After a second murder and Richard’s disappearance, Kate sets out to find the killer in their midst and clear her husband’s name. She begins to piece together an eerie puzzle, finding clues in the heart of her own community. In Death Angel anguish, suspicion and death combine in the horrifying aftermath of a vicious crime that pits a mother’s love against a ruthless killer. In a stunning conclusion, Kate risks her own life to track down and kill the Death Angel.

I’ll let you all know what I think of it after I read it!

2 thoughts on “50 Shades of WTF?

  1. FYI this particular author’s stories were spin offs of the Twilight Series – started off as a fan favorite musing where the two characters were originally two of the Twilight characters. I never read Twilight so I don’t know the names, but you should read the history of the book for more info.

Leave a Reply

