Entering the editing and query stage


I write. I write a LOT. Well, I’ve been working on a fairy tale retelling and have “finished” it. “Finished” meaning the first draft, errr, second draft is done. (I trashed the first go through because I just hated it at the end. This one…I LOVE!)

I hate query letters.

This is a part of the process where people get lost or think it’s just not that important. It is. Oh it is. It’s what snags you an agent or sends you into the slush pile waste can.

I don’t want to end up in the slush pile waste can. 😦 So, I’m painstakingly working on editing the manuscript and writing this ridiculous letter. I’ve gotten 4 or 5 hours of sleep over the past two days because I can’t stop thinking about adding this to the manuscript, taking that out, write this for the query, or maybe that.

As a writer I’ve found that we NEED other writers. There is no ifs, ands or buts about it. We need each other. I belong to an online writers forum known as Absolute Write Water Cooler. It’s a bunch of writers in a bunch of different genres trying to help each other. Right now, I’d be lost in the query writing. What I thought was at least somewhat decent turns out to be utter shit.

God, I hope my book isn’t utter shit. o_0 *THIS IS WHY YOU EDIT! and get beta readers…*

So, now I am immersing myself in posts, blogs and forums about writing query letters, writing synopses (synopsi?) and editing.
I do have to thank a few of my friends who are reading the unedited version right now. (Bless their souls for putting their brains through that. I made it through a few pages before I had to just start correcting and rewriting. I’m going to be editing for a while.)

So my story, let me tell you about it.

It’s a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. Think…Shades of Grey meets Red Riding Hood…only with more people dying.

That’s it. lol. (See what I mean about having a query letter writing issue?)

That is also why I have been MIA this week. I was finishing up the first draft and working on editing and blah blah blah.

I’ll be editing and blah blah blah forever. *sigh* It’s a good thing I LOVE it..sort of.

2 thoughts on “Entering the editing and query stage

Leave a Reply

