Can a Chihuahua make a good PI?


I received my first ever ARC yesterday for a book coming out this fall. It’s part of a series called theBarking Detective.

I had my doubts about it at first. I mean how good could a book about a chihuahua being a PI be?

It’s so good I read the entire thing yesterday. It’s not often I come across I book I just can’t put down.

Dial C for Chihuahua is written by Waverly Fitzgerald and Curt Colbert, it will be published by Kensington under the name of Waverly Curtis in October 2012.

So let me tell you about this adorable book. It’s a humorous mystery about  divorcee Geri Sullivan and her talking Chihuahua, Pepe Sullivan.

Geri adopted Pepe from a shelter at the instance of her counselor and a friend. Shortly after deciding o Pepe, she learns that she can hear him talking. She takes it rather well. Better than I would. I’m pretty sure I’d be freaking out if my dog just started talking to me. Of course, poor Geri thinks she’s just going crazy.

At the same time she adopts little Pepe she gets a call about a job she had interviewed for. She is now a PI for Jimmy G. and her first case is the disappearance of a wealthy man. They (Geri and Pepe) discover that it is no disappearance but a real, live MURDER!

They spend the rest of the book trying to discover who the murderer is while clearing their names of any wrong doing.

I’ll admit, I loved the book. I thought it was so cute. However, there were some things I wish it had. One of them is romance. Not a lot. I’m not one of those women who buy up every Danielle Steel novel for the steamy scenes, but something is nice. There was some romance in it, mainly between Pepe and another pooch, but it just wasn’t enough to satisfy that craving for SOMETHING.

Another thing that seemed kind of meh was the “fight scene” when the real bad guy fights the good guy. It just wasn’t super exciting. And finally, about half way through the book the real murderer is kind of obvious. That was a bummer, but it didn’t deter me from reading the entire thing.

Waverly Fitzgerald and Curt Colbert did a great  job in their character descriptions. I have to agree with Geri that her sister is HORRID! I wanted to reach into the book and just slap her. Same with Jimmy G.

Over all I’d give the first book in this series a solid 3 1/2 stars. I am excited for the second book, unfortunately…since the first isn’t even out yet…I’m gonna be waiting for a while.

Now, if you are a fan of dogs, mysteries and heroines, go buy this book in October. It’s cute, adorable and just the right amount of ah ha! (Even if the ah ha comes way before the ending.)

2 thoughts on “Can a Chihuahua make a good PI?

    • I hope she likes it! I’m not a huge fan of chihuahua’s but I could just picture this adorable chihuahua with this deep spanish/mexican voice talking to Geri.

      It was definitely a good read.

Leave a Reply

