Life is so fragile


I graduated from high school in 2003. There were 220 of us I believe. We’ve been out of school for 9 years now. We’re all still young adults, getting our lives started.

Unfortunately, life is not guaranteed.

A few years ago one of the nicest guys in my class came to a tragic end. He died trying to save his girlfriend from a fire.

Yesterday, another one of the good guys passed. He was in a motorcycle accident and did not make it.

While I didn’t see either of them since graduation, I never forgot them. How do you forget people you grew up with? We all (pretty much my entire graduating class) were in the Belle Vernon school district since day 1. When you know someone for that long, you don’t just forget them.

When I heard the news last night, I couldn’t believe it. How can someone so young and full of life…die? Things like that aren’t supposed to happen.

It’s hard to believe really. He was my age. I went to school with him. He was always so happy and knew how to make everyone laugh.

Hearing of things like this, it makes you think. It makes you realize that we’re not immortal, that even the healthiest and happiest among us can’t escape death. It makes a person realize that you really shouldn’t take the life you have for granted. It’s easy to forget that tomorrow isn’t guaranteed to us. Nothing says that you have to wake up tomorrow.

It’s crazy how the death of a classmate affects everyone. Those who were his friend, those who just knew of him, it really hits home. I always read news articles about 20 something year olds being shot, in accidents, stabbed or having some other illness that robs them of their life, but it never really bothered me. It’s sad yes, but I didn’t know them. I didn’t grow up with them. This bothered me. I suppose I’m more shocked than anything. Who isn’t when they hear of such tragedy striking someone they knew for such a long time?

Life is such a fragile thing. We beat up our bodies, go through the days without a thought of what if, we have fun and then…the unthinkable happens. I appreciate the life I have even more since the surgery. After finding out I was so close to having a stroke at the age of 26, I’m thankful for the breath in my lungs and the love in my heart. I know that I’m lucky. I have two healthy children. I’m lucky. I have a healthy husband. I’m lucky. I still have all of my parents. I’m lucky.

Please, don’t take what you have for granted. Enjoy each breath you have in you. Appreciate every day. Don’t put off to tomorrow, what you can do now. Tell everyone that you love them and are happy they’re in your life. Smile and just be thankful because tomorrow…may not happen.

2 thoughts on “Life is so fragile

    • Thank you. I wish wouldn’t have had to write something like that. He was only a few months older than me and just such a happy person. I guess my class is lucky when it comes to this sort of thing, we’ve only lost 2 people while so many have lost a lot more. It doesn’t make it easy. I know I wasn’t really friends with him, but such a good person did not deserve a fate like that. He is going to be missed by so many people.

Leave a Reply

