Back to the grind


Friday night was my first night back to work. It has been 5 weeks since I was there.

It’s so nice being back.

I was actually nervous going back. Would I remember how to do my job?

I of course remembered. There are a few things I’m a bit rusty at, but oh man it’s so nice being back. I actually missed everybody and the job.

If you haven’t read my blog before let me do a quick catch up; 5 1/2 weeks ago I had brain surgery. Decompression and a laminectomy of my C1 and C2. I have Chiari Malformation Type 1. No big deal, but it was causing health issues, so I had surgery. For my recovery I was to take 4-8 weeks off. I took off 5.

I’ve felt like such a lazy slug while being off. I’m on a lifting restriction (nothing more than 10 lbs now) and a bending restriction. So there wasn’t much I could do at the house. At least when I’m working, I’m earning a pay check. Even if it is part-time, I’m contributing.

I wasn’t entirely sure how I was going to feel going back to work. I hadn’t sat up that long since before the surgery. Was I going to be able to make it through a shift?

Well, I did. I made it through 3 shifts actually. I’ll be back to my usual 8 hour shifts this coming weekend and after a month, I’ll even sign up for twelves again. It feels great getting back to normal. I even feel a lot better than I did before.

I just the healing keeps up so I can ride some coasters when we go to Cedar Point next month. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

