Mommy, go to time out!


I’ve been a mom for 3 1/2 years now. Nothing compared to some out there, but in my 3 1/2 years of motherhood I’ve learned a valuable thing.

Time out is wonderful.

When I was a kid I hated time out. It was the punishment of Satan. I pictured Hades sitting on his throne laughing every time a mom or dad would utter those awful words. “Go to time out!” (I was an odd child with an overactive imagination)

Today, I love time outs. Not just for the kids, but also for myself. There have been a few times when I’ve yelled, “That’s it! Mommy is going to time out!” The kids are usually confused by this. They just look at me like I’m crazy. Of course I grab this:

Or one of these:

(Don’t worry I don’t get drunk around the kids.)

I’ll hide in a corner with my bottle or my wine glass and slowly sip. The stress then melts away. Well, it melts away for about 2 seconds until the kids find out where I’m hiding and I’m then bombarded with “Mom? Mom? Mommy? Mommy? Mommy juice? Mommy JUICE!”

I’m usually only half way through my beverage by time this occurs, so I have to quickly down it (sometimes it pays off being German and Irish…) and get back to reality. My time outs never last long enough.

But, then there are times when I send the kids to their time out. That, now that, is a knock down, drag out fight. The kids, despite having a room full of toys, hate being sent there. I probably should take their toys away, but do you have any idea how long that would take? But, they hate it when I say, “Go to your room!” That’s when that awful word “No” comes out. I hate that word. It’s their favorite, I just hate it. I’m considering banning it from the house. Nobody is allowed to say no except for me. Yes, only I’m allowed to say no. And I’m going to say it a lot. They do, so I can to!

In fact, the kids are in time out right now. Why? Well, jumping on the dog is frowned upon in our home. As is beating up each other.

I should have started my drink off with my day… (haha see what I did there?)

(And I swear I’m not a lush. A wineo…perhaps. I love wine. If you ever want to buy me a present and have no idea what to get me…just get me a bottle of wine, or 10.)

2 thoughts on “Mommy, go to time out!

    • I did not know that!!! I’ll have to get a bottle of that and I’m just dying to try the chocolate wine. All of my friends swear it’s the best, but I haven’t bought a bottle yet.

Leave a Reply

