Where the Wild Things Are


As a child I remember the little boy dressed like a monster who just wanted to be loved. I remember the imaginary world with the loveable monsters and the wild rumpus.

After 6 decades in the literary business, illustrating over 100 books, Maurice Sendak passed away at the age of 83.

He was most notably known for ‘Where the Wild Things Are’, but he also illustrated another of my favorites, ‘The Berenstein Bears. (He illustrated it, didn’t write it.)

He died on Tuesday of complications from a recent stroke.

When his timeless classic was originally written, many librarians and parents feared that the “fanged and grotesque monsters” that were illustrated inside would scare children too much. Of course, that did not happen.

My mother read Where the Wild Things Are and The Berenstein Bears to me as a child and I, as a mother, read them to my own children. (They are partial to the Berenstein Bears)

While I do not plan on writing for children, he was still an inspiration. He showed me, through his works, that it doesn’t matter how old you are, or what other people think, just write and/or illustrate. If you want to write about fanged monsters who has a little boy as their king, do it. You don’t write to please people, write for yourself.

“I don’t know how to do a children’s book. I don’t even know what a children’s book is. I always know that my work is deemed suitable — more suitable — for children. I don’t believe that, but who cares? Who cares?” he said in an interview with the Atlantic last year.

While he has died, his publications haven’t stopped. In February of 2013 he has one more book coming out. ‘My Brothers Book’. His latest, and final book, is inspired by his brother, Jack, whom he illustrated for.

The world has lost an amazing author and artist.

“And Max, the king of all wild things, was lonely and wanted to be where someone loved him best of all.”
Maurice Sendak, Where the Wild Things Are

Leave a Reply

