Anxious to get back


I’ve been off work for almost 4 weeks now.

It’s torture.

My surgery was almost a month ago. It’s hard to believe that 3 1/2 weeks ago Dr. Friedlander was cutting into my skull. I was told to take 4-8 weeks off. I took 6. A good half way point. So that means…2 1/2 more weeks.

I AM GOING INSANE! I hate not working. I haven’t not worked in over 10 years. I don’t like not working. I feel like I’m not contributing around here. Plus, I just miss work.

For the first time in my entire working life, I absolutely LOVE my job. I really do. I may be nothing more than a glorified secretary, but it’s a pretty cool job and I work with some seriously awesome people. This is also the first time in my entire working life I actually like EVERY single person I work with. Sure, I’ve liked people I work with. I’ve made friends that I’ve kept, but I have never liked everyone. Ever. Do you know how awesome it is to work with a large group of people and like all of them? It’s pretty freaking awesome. Not to mention I learn a lot from them. I do. I absorb the tid bits of knowledge they give out to me. Which is also why I requested my floor after my surgery. Who else would I trust with my brain than people I already know and trust?

So, I’m anxious for these next 2 1/2 weeks to go by. Well, as long as I’m feeling better. If I’m not, Greg already said he isn’t “letting me” go back early.

Which, I never did update about my appointment on Thursday. I had my CT done and I’m happy to report it is ALL CLEAR!!!!!!!!!!! No build up of fluid, no blocked anything and things seem to be good upstairs. So, the pains seem to just be healing pains. So the doc prescribed steroids. Not a lot, just a weeks worth to help out with the healing. Which, today, I’m happy to say I’m actually feeling alright. Not tremendous, but better than the past week. Which is what I want. The better I feel, the quicker I go back to work. (I’m also slightly paranoid about my job not being there when I do get back. Even though boss lady promised it would be…plus FMLA.)

I will be honest, it would be nice to get out of the house. Even if it is just to work. I’ve left here twice since my hospital stay. Today was one of those. (We got a “new to us” van. YAY!) I was in a vehicle for a total of 45 minutes, stood for about 20, sat up straight for about 20 and barely got sick. IMPROVEMENT!!

I am a bit upset though. I have to miss a meeting of the Pittsburgh Writers Group this month. While I am feeling better, not better enough for 2-3 hours out, sitting up and all that. That is still a bit too much for me I believe. Thankfully I have someone I can count on to help out. A few people actually. Which is awesome. (I really am thankful for everyone who has helped or offered to help since all of this has happened.)

And I know I’m not the only one who loves their job. Greg does. He does. He’s been with UPMC for about 4 months now, as a PC Consultant..he’s a happy camper. So, it’s not just me. While UPMC may be taking over the world, they are a good company to work for. (AMAZING BENEFITS! If it weren’t for the benefits I’d be owing them money till…well my great, great, great-grandchildren would be paying off my hospital bills. lol)

So, to sum up my ramblings…I’m anxious to get back to work and to having somewhat of a life. I’m anxious to get this all behind me and get back to freaking normal.

6 thoughts on “Anxious to get back

  1. Happy to hear you got the “all clear”. And I can totally understand you wanting to go back to normal/feel useful again; same problem here, except that nobody’s been cutting into my skull.

    • It’s a pain going from doing so much to practically nothing. Especially when it comes to doing things with the kids. I actually miss going to the park and for walks with them. They drove me crazy, but we had fun. Now…just boring and blah.

      What’s wrong that has you feeling blah too?

      • Yeah, doing nothing might be a relief for a few days, but after that… And I can imagine it’s even worse when you can’t do fun things with your boys! I bet they miss that too.

        I’ve lost my job a little over a month ago, because I couldn’t get a permanent contract due to the economical situation and all that, and now I’m not only bored to death from being at home, but I’ve also had to let go of all the things I’ve planned for the near future. I wanted to start a family, but now I’m not even sure if I can keep my apartment. All in all, not my favourite situation, so to speak.

      • Ugh, that’s awful! I’m sorry.

        I know what you mean though. Right after Greg got out of the Marines we were in the same boat. It was awful.

        I always say the only reason UPMC hired me was because they got sick of reading my resume. lol.

Leave a Reply

