Making the hard decisions


I was set to start school this fall at the University of Pittsburgh. Since the surgery I’ve had to make the hard decision to post-pone it for a year.

I’ve been pushing off school for, well, a while now. No real reason, besides being lazy I suppose. But, I finally got to it and applied and surprisingly I was accepted. (You could probably have heard my shrill shrieks of excitement in Downtown)

Things were progressing, then I got the first MRI results. First thing I thought was, “Oh shit, what’s wrong with me?” then, “Oh shit…what about school?” Things were going well right after the surgery so I figured things would go as they were supposed to. Finish with financial aid, get the tuition deposit in and get ready to buy my books.

Then, I started to feel like shit. The nausea came back, the head is throbbing, and I’m now back to just wanting to be curled up in my bed. Kind of going backwards in my progress. After a week of feeling like that, I finally called the doctor’s office and have an appointment for tomorrow morning…with a CT Scan.

To say I’m upset is an understatement. I was really looking forward to going to school and moving forward with things. Now, I have to wait. I have no idea what’s going to happen tomorrow, or what the CT will show, so I didn’t put in the deposit. I know it’s not the end of the world and I can always reapply, but man oh man, I’m just so disappointed.

Life can really throw shit storms at people. I’m ready for mine to be over. I could use a bit of good luck right about now. You know, if it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all.

Leave a Reply

