So unreal


I now have less than 12 hours before I have to be at Presby for my surgery.

In fact…it’s 10.5 hours. Only 10.5 more hours. It seems as though I’ve been waiting an eternity, but it’s only been 12 days. 12 very long days. My journey is almost at an end.

I got the call from registration this morning and the time was changed to 5:00 not 5:30. My surgery time is 7:10.

Yesterday as I was highlighting the on-service surgeries for today, I thought about how weird it would have been if I worked today and had to highlight my own name. Seriously, what would it have been like to see and highlight my name for tomorrow?

Today hasn’t felt any different then any other day. It feels normal. It doesn’t feel like the day before a brain surgery. It doesn’t feel like anything. Well besides me being a crab ass. Everything has been irritating me today.

I just want this to be done and over with.

I did start packing my bag. One with my clothes, the other will house the lap top and my notebook.

I’m terrified. Absolutely terrified. I don’t know what to think right now, or if I can. My brain is on overload right now. I’m not sure it knows how to process everything that is going on. I’m not sure it’s excited about the surgery on it tomorrow either.

There is one thing I’ve been thinking about…after my surgery I want a scoop of raspberry and blueberry cheese cake ice cream from The Milk Shake Factory. And if I don’t get it while I’m in the hospital, as soon as I’m discharged that is where I’m going. To get some ice cream.

I’ve also realized that I’m going to be spending a lot of time in bed for the next 4-8 weeks. A lot of time. Between the muscle relaxer and the pain pills, my bed is going to be my best friend. I can’t say that I’m upset about that. It has been a long time since I’ve gotten super friendly with my bed. We usually see each other for a few hours a night, but not like how inseparable we’re going to be.

Well, I’m going to try to post tomorrow before heading back into surgery. If I don’t, I’ll post, post-op.

4 thoughts on “So unreal

  1. Just think, no more migraines! And you don’t have to give up caffeine (at least not permanently! I’ll be praying for you. Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

