An amazing ice cream and chocolate store


I’ve lived in the Pittsburgh area my entire life and I have never stopped at this place. Not until recently. I did mention it in passing in a blog months ago, but I finally got a chance to visit.

All I have to say is, Oh. My. GOD!

I have a serious sweet tooth. That is why this place…

image

really appealed to me.

Now it’s not just a chocolate store, it’s also an ice cream shop. A REAL ICE CREAM SHOP! Not that out of a machine shit. This is hand dipped, delicious ice cream.

What is the place? The Milk Shake Factory in the Southside on Carson St.

IT IS AMAZING!!!!!

My mother, my boys and I went. The boys had a piece of cake flavored ice cream, I had raspberry AND blue berry cheese cake in a waffle cone and mom had a moose tracks milk shake. They were all so amazingly delicious. I can’t wait to go back.

The shop isn’t super small but it’s taken up by chocolatey and ice cream deliciousness, so I can’t complain about there only being two tables and four chairs. As we ate the ice cream it was nice to sit and just watch the people walk by. (Yeah, we did sit at one of the tables.) I savored each and every bite of my ice cream. And the smells. Oh dear lord that smell! It was a mixture of yummy chocolate and candies. I, of course, got a few chocolate covered pretzels and peanut butter melt aways when I left.  A little extra goodness for the long ride to moms house. THEY WERE AMAZING! I had a white chocolate drizzled with milk chocolate, mom had a peanut butter and milk chocolate covered pretzel and the boys had the peanut butter melt aways.

One very important factor that I absolutely cannot leave out, the customer service. They were  some of the nicest people I’ve encountered when going to pretty much anywhere. The lovely lady who waited on us was so incredibly patient and sweet. Remember I had two 3-year-olds with me who were staring at not only a room full of chocolate but 12 different ice cream flavors. It wasn’t an instant decision for them. But she was so patient and helpful. (And fast.) There were smiles, hellos and extra attention to my boys. Which, let me tell you, is awesome. I can’t tell you how many employees in other places are down right rude to my boys. I don’t like it when people are rude to my children. They may have their fits at home, but they are good for 3-year-olds out in public. That I am very proud of. So when some pimply faced high school kid is a total snot to MY boys, I want to smack them upside the head and ask them what the hell their problem is. You don’t have that problem at this place. They are respectful and patient. LOVE IT!

I’m always complaining about there not being a decent ice cream shop in the area, being stuck with DQ or Burger King out of the machine crap. I don’t know how I forgot about this place.

If you’re in the mood for delicious ice cream and homemade chocolates…go to The Milk Shake Factory!!! Run, don’t walk.

Oh, and on Wednesdays from 4-6 they have milk shake happy hour. All milk shakes are half off. Great deal if you ask me. And through the holiday season they have carrot cake shakes! YUM!!!!

Leave a Reply

