I cheated


I did the unthinkable yesterday. I couldn’t help it. Haven’t you ever had one of those days where you were like, why? What’s the point of being good? I just want to be BAD! Or you need it.

Like me. Yesterday. Oh I needed it. I craved it so bad that I just went and took it.

And I didn’t feel bad either.

I drank more than one cup of caffeine! I drank 6! I was bad. I cheated on my caffeine restriction.

Oh, did you think I meant I cheated on Greg? Ha, no. I disobeyed my doc. Don’t worry, when I see her in 2 1/2 weeks I’ll give her my headache journal where I confessed. So she’s going to know.

Yesterday was a not good day for me. I only got 2 1/2 hours of sleep despite going to bed at 9 pm. You see I bought/downloaded Hunger Games to my Kindle. I got hooked on the book and through my tears (Yes, the book made me bawl like a freaking baby) I read the entire thing in one day. It was one of those books I just couldn’t put down. It was amazing.

So, the lack of sleep was not made better by the fact I’m only allowed to have one cup of caffeine a day. I was dragging majorly after my skinny Cinnamon Dolce frappacino from Starbucks. So after an hour or so when that coffee was not kicking in I succumbed to the temptation of the shitty UPMC coffee and got a second cup. It was a terrible spiral downward from there.

I downed 4 more cups of coffee throughout the rest of my shift. Now, in my defense I did work 12 1/2 hours and I did drink 10 cups of water. So, I wasn’t that bad.

It didn’t do anything to my migraines. They’re still there and just as bad. IBProfin and Tylenol don’t work.
Fortunately my doc, who is AMAZING  BTW, is having me get blood work done (that will be done tomorrow) and an MRI. (Which is going to be done after work on Saturday.)

I’d lie if I said I wasn’t nervous. I am. I doubt that anything will be found, but there is still that what if. What if there is something there? What if my migraines aren’t just migraines?

I know the likely hood of anything actually showing up is slim to none and these probably are just migraines. Or caused from stress. Perhaps the screaming of two 3-year-olds contributes.  Especially right now. It’s been a 15 minute tantrum so far.

Either way, I hope the issue is figured out soon. Which I’m sure it will.

So there…that’s how I cheated.

 

2 thoughts on “I cheated

  1. So very disappointed, Heather. 😦 Just kidding. I thought I read somewhere that trying to go cold turkey off of caffeine was just as bad as drinking a ton of the stuff? Anyway, I hope that all turns up negative at your MRI.

    • lol Jeremy. Not the juicy stuff ya thought, huh?

      I did to, but my doc doesn’t seem too worried. She told me to just tough it out for the week of withdrawal. I made it a few days. lol. Today was completely caffeine free and it sucks. I want my COFFEE!!!

      And thanks. I’m hoping it’s all negatory too.

Leave a Reply

