Mom and dads night out…


Friday night Greg and I went out on our first date in MONTHS!!!

I think about 8 months.

A LONG TIME!

Yes, we actually went out. I had planned this big night out. Dinner, drinks, pool and dancing.

I got a babysitter, my mother is awesome, and we got all spiffy up.

Dinner was at the Spaghetti Warehouse. I haven’t been there in YEARS. Not since my dad took me as a teenager…so about 10 years.

It was…okay.

I had the Chicken bow tie Milano while Greg had the Sirloin and spaghetti.

But lets start at the beginning.

We walk through the front doors to a waiting area…which is WAY over decorated, and stand there looking around. No hostess in sight. There were a few waitresses who just ignored us. Stared, but ignored. No hello, no nothing.

A hostess shows up after a few minutes, no smile, no hello. She turns to lead us to a table and is like freaking Speedy Gonzalez. At one point we actually lost her. She, rather rudely, says, “Overrrr heeerreee!”

So we sit and she vanishes. We sit there for about 10 minutes without seeing our waitress. By now I’m in a rather pissy mood. Especially since the parents behind us were cursing at their child who was screaming like a banshee the entire time they were there.

Our waitress FINALLY shows up…and THANK GOD SHE WAS NICE! Super nice actually. I was able to forgive the asshole hostess and her tardiness.

She was able to bring our drinks quickly, which was the best part of the meal. I had a tiramisu martini and the man had a long island.

Our appetizer comes…the scicillian sampler, which had toasted ravioli, cheese frita, stuffed mushrooms and bruchetta.

It wasn’t bad. Kind of bland, but okay. Definitely not worth $9.

Then the entrees come. I started eating and, yup, like the appetizers, it was bland. The chicken was good, the sauce, not so much. Greg’s steak was good. His spaghetti, bland.

I don’t plan on going back.

We had fun talking. I love talking to him,sometimes. You would think with how opposite we are our personalities would clash more. Sometimes they do, but other times, not so much.

After dinner we decided to go to the Southside. The plan was drinks, pool and dancing. Yeah, we didn’t make it that far. We get there, drive around looking for parking and yeah, I was tired. I was tired and I had to be up at 4 am the following morning for work. So, we went home.

What did we do once we got home? We went to bed. Yeah, our night was done by 10 pm.

We’re getting old. *sigh*

6 thoughts on “Mom and dads night out…

  1. I love the spaghetti warehouse and would not ever consider their food bland. Their service can be eratic sometimes.
    But quit being an old woman and go out and have fun. Especially when you have free babysitting

    • Maybe it was what I had, but it was just bland. No real taste. Which was disappointing because two of my favorite foods (spinach and mushrooms) was in the sauce.

      Yeah, I need to stop acting like an old woman, but in my defense I did have to get up at 4 am the following morning for work. Next time I’ll make sure we stay out.

  2. Heh, yeah my nights out end at 10 too. That’s past my bed time. haha
    But I do like spaghetti warehouse. Used to go there with my parents a lot in college. And they have yummy sangria, I’m just saying.

    • I may have the body of a 26-year-old but I feel like I’m 86. Kids…they’re like little energy suckers.

      I think I may have to have one set of the grandparents keep the kiddos over night.

Leave a Reply

