The Reclusive Hermit


I’m one of those people who believes that there is no such thing as a stupid question.

That is until today.

Today, I was asked a stupid question. People shall remain nameless and their stupidity thus hidden. For now.

Today, I was asked if I was a reclusive hermit.

No, I am not a recluse and I am not a hermit.

I have kids and I work.

Sure over the past 4 years since I’ve gotten pregnant and had the boys I haven’t gone out as much as I used to. I don’t party every weekend as I once did. I don’t dance and wear mini skirts anymore. Okay…I don’t wear miniskirts often. The tata’s are kept under lock and key…for the most part. And yeah I do still wear my high heels. I can’t help it…I have amazing legs. (Thanks momma!)

I’ve settled down and I am a bit of an introvert anyway. I enjoy the solitude of my house. While it’s not quiet I am comfortable here and there aren’t people.

Yes, I am socially awkward and have a bit of anxiety when I’m out in public. Okay, a lot of anxiety.

I don’t like crowds. Not at all. If there are a lot of people I tend to freak out a little bit. The happy pills help out a little bit with that. A little bit. I still freak out in very crowded places.

I enjoy hiding behind my netbook and using my words to create. I prefer it really. There is nothing better than sitting on my couch with hot apple cider and my computer.

While some may view my introvertism as a weakness, I see it as a strength. I use my brain, I use my words, I’m creative and despite what FB says…I only have a small handful of very close friends. It takes a lot for someone to get to that inner, inner circle and usually once they are there…they’re there for good. Unlike so many others, I still have friends from elementary school.

In fact, my very first friend ever, my first best friend….I’m still friends with her. Mojo. We’re still friends probably because she’s almost as introverted as I am. Yes, we have been friends for going on 20 years.

I’m not entirely sure what constitutes a recluse. Actually, hold on…I’m going to google it. Okay, so maybe I’m sort of reclusive like. I’m not a total shut in and banishing all of society. Just a majority of it. Which, is slightly ironic since I write a blog, free-lance for CBS and would rather like to be a published author. That sort of throws me out into the public. But, since all of that is done from the sanctuary of my home, it could still work.

I’m an irony. That’s what I am.

So, lets recap:

I AM NOT A RECLUSIVE HERMIT.

2 thoughts on “The Reclusive Hermit

  1. I get a shoutout! I am special! lol

    But in seriousness, I say unless we start to get close to Howard Hughes territory, we shouldn’t worry about it. As long as we’re able to function and don’t do weird shit like bottle our own urine, I think it’s ok. haha
    Besides, you can be a Salinger-lite type author when you get published.

    • Fortunately I do not bottle my urine. So I think we’re safe for now.

      I wouldn’t mind being Salinger-like type author. Well, without all the legal issues.

Leave a Reply

