A writers/book club


So it’s no secret that I’m a writer. Or a reader. So, what I’m planning on doing should be of no surprise.

I’ve searched the internet for book groups and writer groups in Pittsburgh, but nothing that really caught my attention.

So, I’m doing what makes sense. I’m…planning on…starting a book/writers group.

The problem?

I need people who want to join!

Yes, you can’t have a club with one person. Even though, I suppose, if I were super socially awkward and not only slightly, I could. However, I’d prefer more than myself.

If anyone would be interested in joining/attending/or whatever a writers/book club in Pittsburgh, (I do mean IN Pittsburgh. Downtown, North Shore, Southside area for meet ups) feel free to leave something in the comments or email me at hlwampler24@yahoo.com.

2 thoughts on “A writers/book club

  1. Hey Heather … I’ve been looking for a writer’s group in our area too, and have just joined two. s(Yes. Two. I think I must be insane.) There’s the Pittsburgh South Writers Group that meets every second Tuesday of the month, 7 pm at the Bethel Park Library. Their next meeting is December 13. Then there’s The Caffeinated Quill, which meets on the last Sunday of the month from 1-3 p.m. at the Barnes and Noble in Greensburg. Seems like there’s a bit of overlap between the two and if you were looking to stay within Downtown, this might be difficult. BUT, having just signed up, I know they are both accepting and welcoming of new members.

    • With the work schedule, kids and being a one vehicle family I am limited to the downtown, northside and southside areas. (Perhaps Squirrel Hill, South Hills and Shadyside) Which was why I wanted to try and start one around here or find one in the immediate area. I do know that the Carnegie Library has a few writers/book groups, but none of them really grabbed my attention.

      If I did start a group I’d hope to meet once or twice a month around here…somewhere. lol.

Leave a Reply

