When grandma visits


My kids are momma boys, except when “mamaw” Margie comes over.

When their mamaw Margie visits mommy is invisible.

Last week my mother came over to visit and to take the boys shopping for their birthday presents. She wanted them to have the option of picking out their own gifts.

o_0

If you have children, of any age, this is not a good idea.

Our adventure started fairly early in the morning. Mom showed up around 10 am. Yes, 10 am. I’m not a morning person. I had to be showered, dressed, somewhat presentable and have the kids ready and fed by then. This is quite a feat for me. Especially since the kids don’t wake up till 10 am.

I slipped into my slumbering children’s bedroom around 9 am and nicely began to wake them up. The ensuing whines, moans and dirty looks would make you think I had gone in with clubs and began beating them.

Getting dressed is a chore in itself. Brett loves wearing clothes and is proud that he can dress himself. Eli though, not so much. He’d be happy if we let him run around in his pull up all day. He usually gets to options to get dressed, the nice way or the not so nice way. That morning, it was the not so nice way.

With shirt, shorts and socks in hand I proceeded to chase my 3-year-old around his bedroom and playroom for a good 15 minutes. For 3-years-old he’s fast. Those little legs can really move. When I did catch him I had to gently tackle him to the floor, sit on him and as quickly as my arms could move, I wrestled him into his clothes.

Thank god for his big head and belt. He couldn’t take them off.

My mom showed up and just looked at Eli.

Mom: Ummm…Is there something wrong with Eli?
Me: No, he’s fantastic.

Mom: Umm…he looks like something is wrong.
Me: He’s sitting upright and has on clothes.

Mom: O_0

Me: He’s mad he’s dressed.

Mom: Ohhhhkay.

We ushered the kids out the door and, with the suitcase of kids stuff, we left. (I never leave the house without my diaper bag of wonders.)

Mom decided that the kids were going to get their toys from Toys R’ Us. They haven’t been in a Toys R’ Us since they were babies. I know kids act in a toy store. I know they can go from being precious little angles to these green-eyed, toy hoarding hellions.

Mine turned into toy hoarding hellions.

It was an hour of them picking out the most expensive toys and tantrums.

My children are normally well-behaved children, in public. At home or at any of the grandparents houses…totally different story. Toy store day was a disaster. A combination of being with “mamaw” and having their tiny, toddler brains blown by an entire store of new toys turned my children into these little beings I didn’t recognize.

Needless to say, I was happy when we got home. The children were banished to their play room while momma (me) drank a nice, big mug of hot tea.

Usually visits from grandma are in one place. Our house, or hers. And amazingly, they’re always naughty little monsters then too…hmmm.

3 thoughts on “When grandma visits

  1. I wanted to jot down a quick remark in order to express gratitude to you for those fantastic concepts you are giving at this website. My time-consuming internet look up has finally been rewarded with awesome ideas to exchange with my good friends. I would say that most of us readers are unequivocally fortunate to be in a fine site with very many awesome individuals with good methods. I feel extremely happy to have come across the site and look forward to so many more fun times reading here. Thanks once again for everything.

  2. Your mom lets them be little monsters? Haha. I mean I know grandparents spoil their grandkids and let them do whatever, but she didn’t let us get away with anything when we were growing up. lol I’m surprised she lets them run amok when they’re over there.

    • You wouldn’t believe what she lets her grandkids get away with! Including my nephew Ty. It’s like all the rules and meanness from when I was a kid just went out the window when I was pregnant. She even gives them things!!!! And lets them eat crap! And DOESN’T make them eat all their dinner at her house. Of course, I then step in as the meanest mommy in the entire world and make them eat their dinner before their cake and cookies.

      Speaking of cake and cookies…she ALWAYS has some sort of snack or sugar filled food for them when they are around her. Do you have ANY idea how hard it is to get two 3-year-olds to calm down from a grandma and sugar high visit?

      But, they have fun with her and they love mom to pieces. And she loves them, so, I let them be little beasts when she’s around. And only then. lol

Leave a Reply

