Another dinner hit


My boys are odd and take after their father. They love spicy food.

So for tonight I made chicken chili.

I like regular beef chili, but meh. I haven’t been in the mood for beef.

My kids are spice fiends like their daddy is so I wasn’t to worried about them not liking it. What I was unsure of was the beans and chunks of cooked tomato.

It was a good to go with them. They loved it. So, for all you other momma’s who have spice loving munchkins….here’s my chicken chili recipe!

Chicken Chili

1 lb of ground chicken (or turkey…I usually use turkey but because of the turkey recall opted for chicken)

1 can of diced tomatoes (Wal-mart’s generic brand has a chili ready diced tomato, which is what I used. It’s good.)

1 BIG can of tomato sauce. (29 oz)

1 small onion

1 can of dark kidney, light kidney and pinto beans. (I LOVE BEANS!)

cilantro

parsley

salt

chili season packet

chili powder

crushed red pepper flakes

Step 1.

Open all the cans and dump them into a crock pot. Of course mix it up.

Step 2.

Cut up the onion and toss it in the crock pot.

Step 3.

Add all the seasoning to taste. Everyone’s taste buds are different so keep tasting as you add until you go “ahhh that’s good”

Step 4.

Turn crock pot on high. If you don’t have a crock pot simmer at a medium heat in a big pot.

Step 5.

Brown the chicken (or turkey)

Step 6.

Add that.

Step 7.

Wait 1 1/2 – 2 hours then serve and eat.

You can put sour cream, cheddar cheese or any other topping on that you like. I like to put a little bit of butter and cheddar cheese on mine.

Also AMAZING with corn bread!

2 thoughts on “Another dinner hit

    • Well, they’ve been eating spicy foods since they started eating solids and they’ve never had an issue. Why deprive them of a food that they like because it’s spicy? If they like it and aren’t allergic to it, by all means they can eat it. I’m not going to deny my kids food they enjoy. Food is a great part of life and I love the fact that my boys are willing to try new things and enjoy food most 3 year olds don’t.

Leave a Reply

