The life lessons Dr. Seuss teaches us


I read a Dr. Seuss book to my boys nearly every night. We love Dr. Seuss.

Not the new ones that aren’t written by Dr.Seuss. I’m talking about the old ones like Green Eggs and Ham, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish.

Those are Dr. Seuss books.

Even though his books resemble the workings of someone who was high when he wrote them, they’re good and keep the kids entertained while teaching them a lesson.

Yes, there is a lesson in the words. Let’s examine Green Eggs and Ham. The story is about a character (who has no name) that is very curmudgeon about Sam, the small guy who rides on the Zeep in the beginning (the giant lion thing is the Zeep, read One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish), trying to get him to eat green eggs and ham.

Through out the entire story he continues to claim to not like green eggs and ham. He flat-out refuses to give them a chance, but little Sam doesn’t give up. He keeps up with the pestering until the unnamed character finally agrees to give them a try.

“You do not like them.
So you say.
Try them! Try them!
And you may.
Try them and you may I say.

Sam!
If you will let me be,
I will try them.
You will see.”

Sam is a smart bugger. He knows that if the tall fuzzy guy would just give them a shot, they may taste good. So fuzzy guy tries them. Sam wore him down enough and he gives them a try.

And what happens?

“Say!
I like green eggs and ham!
I do!! I like them, Sam-I-am!
And I would eat them in a boat!
And I would eat them with a goat…
And I will eat them in the rain.
And in the dark. And on a train.
And in a car. And in a tree.
They are so good so good you see!”

Oh my gosh…HE LIKES THEM!

The moral of the story? Well, there are two really.

The first is, if you stick to your guns it can work out in your favor. Like with Sam. He knew that if fuzzy guy just gave it a shot, he would like them.

And secondly, don’t be so quick to judge something (or someone) unless you give it/them a chance first. You never know what you’re going to like if you don’t try it.

So you see, Dr. Seuss teaches us things while making us parents go…What? while reading.

One thought on “The life lessons Dr. Seuss teaches us

Leave a Reply

