How do you do it? Part 2


This is the second part in How do yo do it.

This one is about how I handle day-to-day life as a mom of twins.

Sheer will power. Seriously, if I didn’t make myself do get up in the mornings and do everything, I’d never leave my bed.

I’m not the only mother who had twins. I’m not the only one who knows the challenges of raising more than one child. Even women who don’t have twins, but have two kids or more, knows the hardships that go along with it. Having kids isn’t a walk in the park. You can take a walk in the park with your kids, but raising them isn’t so easy.

There’s days when I grab my hair an yank. A few months ago I found my first grey hair…I’m not even 26 yet. Kids will do that to you. They will try your patience and go behind you messing up what you just did. I spent 3 hours cleaning my house today. The same house I spent 3 days cleaning 3 days ago. It took me 45 minutes to clean the kids room. It took them 5 to destroy it. I think my head popped off my shoulder rotated 360 degrees and I spewed pea soup. The kids laughed. I cried. Then I went and got a cookie and sulked in a corner throwing myself a pity party for about 5 minutes.

I don’t know what life is like with only 1 baby, I’ve never had just one baby. It’s always been 2. So that’s how I do it. It’s all I’m used to. Perhaps with 1 baby they don’t destroy a perfectly clean room in 5 minutes. Maybe it takes them 10.

I’ve learned how to do housework, cook, clean and mother with two kids up my butt. I’ll have one hanging on my leg and the other holding onto my bum. It is hard dragging them around like that, but I get things done.

When you have kids, life doesn’t just stop. If you’re not ready then you have to at least pretend you are. You have to do whatever it is you have to in order to get things done. It sucks at times, but that’s life for ya. Even when a wrench is thrown into your plans you still have to be ready to change things around.

Another way that I do it is by keeping them busy. Whether that’s giving them a game, toys, a movie to watch or something as simple as a paper and crayon, always keep the kids busy. If they’re busy they won’t whine. If they don’t whine you can get more done.

That’s how I do it and how I stay remotely sane.

Leave a Reply

