How do you do it? Part 1


I got a question emailed to me today. I was asked, “How do you do it?”

I was confused about what “it” was, so I’ll make this a few parter.

Part 1 is going to be how do you keep the relationship going.

That one is a toughy.

As much as I love my Greg, boy oh boy can he drive me insane. Just as I know I drive him insane at times. But what keeps us together? What keeps us from calling it quits?
Well, there are two things that keep us going.

The first thing is the kids. No matter what we do or how loud we speak our minds to each other, we remember that we both love the kids more than anything and know that they love the both of us. So what do we do? Work through our problems. We’ll walk away, calm down then apologize.

That doesn’t work with everybody. Sometimes the person you married changes and not for the best. It also doesn’t mean you don’t love your child less if you divorce. Sometimes the best thing for the child(ren) is being divorced.

That’s not for us.

The second thing that keeps us together is love. We’ve known each other for a very, very long time. We didn’t get along that well as kids, he was mean. But we grew up. Became adults and decided that the other wasn’t so bad after all. He matured and turned into quiet the sexy beast. And apparently I became a sexy beast to him. We fell in love. And 6 years after we started dating (I think we’re either in our sixth year together going to 7th or 5th year going to 6th. How terrible is that? I don’t remember. lol) I still love him. In fact, I love him more and more everyday. Okay, there are days when I don’t like him all that much, but then he usually does something to make me love him again.

This is how we keep it going. That is how we do it. Love and kids.

Do I know if it’s going to last forever? No, I don’t. Do I hope it will? Of course, I don’t want to have to go through a divorce. I don’t want to lose my best friend. How many other women can say that they get to spend the rest of their lives with their best friend?

Leave a Reply

