Go eat a cookie


When life doesn’t go your way, you have to grin and bear it.

You would be amazed what could happen when the unthinkable happens.

When I found out that my old boss set me up to take the fall for her f*ck up I was completely devastated. What she blamed on me was unthinkable. Anybody who knows me, knows I’m probably one of the most honest people alive.

I’m not bragging. It’s one thing my mother drilled into me. You do not steal, lie, cheat or murder. If you have children you take care of them. You don’t dump them off on other people.

My boss pinned another store’s missing money on me. I agreed to help her out at the store doing their paperwork, counting the safe (they already knew that someone in that store was stealing money) and dropping the deposit. When I discovered that there was money missing and informed her, she twisted it around that I had something to do with it.

I most certainly did not.

I had never been fired before. I was in complete shock. I wasn’t too sad though. I’d already had my two weeks notice typed up for a week before all that happened. The company had turned out to not be what they made it out to be in the interview and during my “training”.

What’s the point of me telling my work horror story?

That even when life doesn’t go your way, fret not, things could change. If I hadn’t lost that job, I would never had started this blog. I would never have the time between working 50-60 hours a week and taking care of the kids, the house and trying to squeeze in adult time with Greg.

Now, I not only have time for the kids and Greg but for my blog. It may not be the greatest or have the most interesting topics, but I can relate to other housewives, stay at home moms, working moms and the average Jane.

It’s hard for us right now. But, at the same time, it’s nice. I have my family with me all the time and I love it. There are a lot of people out there who don’t like spending a lot of time with their husbands, wives or kids, but I do. It’s great. I don’t miss a thing and honestly, my husband is my best friend. He knows me better than I do. And as much as he may argue with me about it, I know him better than he knows himself. I also know a lot of things he doesn’t know I know. We women tend to find out everything. Men can’t hide things from us. Even if we don’t say anything, ohhhhh boy do we know. The longer we keep quiet, usually the worse it’s gonna be for you men. So just come clean now because chances are we already know.

So, back to my topic, life hasn’t been easy for us. The kids are turning 3 and they like to push our buttons. We’re exhausted, stressed and quite frankly I will be happy once all of this stress can be relieved.

If things aren’t going your way right now, take a step back and think about what you can do to fix it. Then do it. Sometimes it won’t be easy or simple and the answer won’t always stare you in the face. Sometimes the answer is what you’re not expecting. I never in my wildest dreams thought I’d be writing a blog and actually have readers.

I also have more time for my books. Yes, I’m writing books. I have 3 I’m working on and nope, I have no idea if they’ll ever be published. Last month I would have said never, in fact, last month I did say never. Now, maybe. The only thing standing between me and greatness is…me. The same goes for you.

So smile, buck up and go eat a cookie. It’ll make you feel better.

Leave a Reply

