The Great Potty Adventures


We are in one of the greatest parent battles of all time.

Potty training.

I’ve heard it’s easier to potty train boys than girls, if this is true…I NEVER want to potty train a girl. Ever.

Now Brett, he’ll actually tell me when he has to go. Sometimes. And usually it’s right before he has to go. Meaning, when I help him pull down his pull up, he is already peeing. Many a pairs of pants, shirts, socks and carpet have been blasted by his little super soaker. Eli though, used the potty once, last year, and that’s been it. He shows absolutely no interest in the potty. He is more than happy to let mommy wipe his little tush.

The kids are turning 3 in a few months. 3 months actually. (I have yet to start planning their birthday party) We are no where near being fully potty trained. At this rate they may be potty trained by time they graduate…college.

This is by far one of the biggest wars I’ve faced in motherhood thus far.  Granted they’re only turning 3 and I’ve got quite a while a head of me but who would have guessed getting a kid to pee on the potty (and poo) would be so time consuming and difficult.

I’ve tried the tricks everyone suggests. Put cheerios in the potty, No use fruit loops, make it a game, blah, blah, blah. Those may work for other kids, not mine. They show no interest in peeing on cereal, just eating it. They don’t want to play pee in the potty, just stand on the potty. I’ve also tried positive reinforcement. Telling them what wonderful, good, smart boys they are when they do pee. (They are wonderful, usually good and incredibly smart little boys all the time) They get excited for about 2 minutes and quickly loose interest, like most toddlers do.

I know they know they have wee wee’s as well. I can’t keep their hands out of their pants. But when it comes to using that potty it’s as though they have no idea what that penis is for. Boys, I swear. I don’t know what I’m gonna do with them.

They’re gonna be the only kids in kindergarten who don’t know how to use a potty! And growl like dogs. But that’s for another day.

Leave a Reply

