Growing up


My children are growing up. I don’t remember giving them permission.

Greg and I married rather young. We were only 23. The boys were born shortly after. The day they were born was one of the best days of our lives. I can’t say the best. We’ve had plenty of amazing days since.

Something has been happening over the past 5 years I was not prepared for. Something nobody told me. Kids grow up. And they grow up rather quickly. A bit faster than what I was prepared for.

This year is a year of firsts. Kindergarten. Boy that first day was full of tears for this momma. And now we’re loosing teeth. That’s right, the oldest of my twins has lost his first tooth and his second is loose. The tooth fairy is going to go broke at this rate. I wasn’t sure what to think what saw that itty, bitty tooth. Or when I saw him smile and that big ol’ gap was staring back at me. My baby isn’t a baby. The other boy…well he’s sworn he’s never losing his baby teeth. I’m okay with that. I’m alright with my baby staying a baby.

I wasn’t prepared for my guys to grow up. At least not this fast. I knew it was going to happen. Eventually. Just not so soon.

But such is life.

3 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. I know the feeling of babies growing up too fast. My baby is now a teenager and learning to drive. Makes me cry every time I see her sitting in that seat. I remember when she was still in her car seat. #MommyMemories

  2. They will always stay your babies. just as time goes on they go out into the world but take with them all you taught them. Once they start school is does seem to go a bit quicker

  3. Always spend time with your children. In the blink of an eye they will be grown up and on their own. It seems like one day I was holding my newborn daughter and the very next day I was walking her down the isle. Where did the years go?

Leave a Reply

