Such a bittersweet weekend


This is such a bittersweet weekend for me.

I’m excited, but I’m so unbelievably sad at the same time.

I’m leaving my beloved unit at Presby.

It was my last day on 6D. I’ve worked Neurosurg for the past 2 years. And in those two years I have learned so much from all the nurses and doctors. I’ve made so many friends. I’ve seen so many fascinating things. And other things I wish to God I could forget.

But my time there is a time in my life I wouldn’t trade in for anything. Those that have come into my life have been amazing. I will never forgot them and I hope that those I consider friends will never lose touch. In fact I hope to get margaritas or wine with them soon.

I’ve worked since I was 15. That’s 13 years in the work force. In those 15 years would you like to know how many jobs I’ve liked? 1. Do you want to know what that one job has been? This one. I’ve liked this one job. I worked with an awesome group of nurses and pct’s. There are some great neurosurg residents. And if it weren’t for the hours and me wanting to spend more time with the Man I’d stay there forever. But…I miss my family. I miss spending some weekends at home. I never have time with the man. It’s starting to wear on us.

So what am I doing now? I’m moving down a few floors.

That’s right. I’m not leaving UPMC. I’m just transferring. I’m moving to a different department. I’ll still miss my unit.

I’m scared to start this new venture, but excited. I have new hours. A new department. New people. (I’ll still get to see a few familiar faces) And a completely new job.

What if I completely F it up?

Oh God I need a drink now!

It was a crazy weekend. One of the craziest weekends int he two years I’ve been with UPMC. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I’m going to miss you 6D. I cried in the car on the way home. I’m crying a bit now. I think I’ll probably cry my first day at the new position. I’m probably going to cry a lot. I’m excited, but so sad.

 

2 thoughts on “Such a bittersweet weekend

Leave a Reply

